Republic Next Logo

sri lanka presidential election

Podcast episode: The Floating Vote

While these base votes are more or less guaranteed, says Senaratne, the remaining 17% floating may decide the outcome of the election.

SLFP yields

The SLFP formally announced its decision today to back the candidate of its biggest breakaway faction-turned rival party yet, in the upcoming presidential election.

Hisbullah backing Gota, trying to split Muslim vote – UNP

The UNP claimed today that presidential candidate M. L. A. M. Hisbullah is tacitly backing SLPP candidate Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

Most crowded prez election yet; could cost EC Rs. 5bn

The upcoming presidential election has already turned out to be the most crowded ever in terms of candidates, and is expected to cost the Elections Commission up to Rs. 5 billion.

Gota citizenship issue: There is no case – SLPP

The SLPP is confident that the Court of Appeal will rule in its favour in the ongoing case against Gotabya Rajpaksa's purported dual citizenship.

Petition seeking suspension of election gazette

A petition was filed in the Supreme Court this afternoon requesting a writ order suspending the gazette notification on the upcoming presidential election.

Gota free to fly to S’pore

Releasing his passport, the Special High Court permitted SLPP presidential candidate Gotabaya Rajapaksa today (3) to travel to Singapore for a purported medical checkup.

Executive Presidency: Will follow 2015 reform trajectory – Sajith

Presidential hopeful Sajith Premadasa said he will continue the constitutional reform trajectory of the UNF government, amendments to the executive presidency included.

Preschools to be free under Sajith

Presidential hopeful Sajith Premadasa promised today to reform preschool education, address malnutrition and revitalise care for the elderly in Sri Lanka, if elected to office.

Sajith blames strikes on Mahinda

Presidential hopeful Sajith Premadasa implied today that Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa may be behind ongoing trade union strike and protest campaigns.

1 2 3 4